Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board

Closed Meeting – March 23, 2017 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

Notice Pursuant to 10 C.F.R. § 1704.5(c)

1. Written Explanation for Closing the Meeting:

During the closed meeting, the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) Members will discuss issues dealing with potential Board Recommendation(s) to the Secretary of Energy. The Board is invoking Exemptions 3 and 9B to close the meeting (5 U.S.C. § 552b(c)(3) and (9)(B), 10 C.F.R. § 1704.4(c) and (h)). The Board has determined that it is necessary to close the meeting to the public since conducting an open meeting is likely to disclose matters that are specifically exempted from disclosure by statute, and/or be likely to significantly frustrate implementation of a proposed agency action. Specifically, the deliberations will pertain to potential Recommendations which, under 42. U.S.C. § 2286d(b) and (h)(3), may not be made publicly available until after they have been received by the Secretary of Energy or the President, respectively.

2. List of Persons Expected to Attend and Their Affiliation:

Mr. Sean P. Sullivan, Chairman, DNFSB

Mr. Bruce Hamilton, Vice Chairman, DNFSB

Ms. Jessie H. Roberson, Board Member, DNFSB

Mr. Daniel J. Santos, Board Member, DNFSB

Ms. Joyce L. Connery, Board Member, DNFSB

Mr. Steven A. Stokes, Technical Director, DNFSB

Mr. Richard Tontodonato, Deputy Technical Director, DNFSB

Ms. Katherine Herrera, Deputy General Manager, DNFSB

Ms. Nora Khalil, Chief External Affairs Officer, DNFSB

Mr. James P. Biggins, General Counsel, DNFSB

Mr. Richard N. Reback, Deputy General Counsel, DNFSB

Mr. Eric F. Fox. Associate General Counsel, DNFSB

Ms. Jennifer Metcalf, Court Report, contractor to DNFSB

DNFSB Technical Staff, as determined by the DNFSB Technical Director, pertinent to technical issues to be discussed.

No other person will be allowed in the closed meeting room.