Bruce Hamilton, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson Joyce L. Connery

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



The Honorable Dan Brouillette Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Brouillette:

We are pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy has awarded Mr. William Satterfield of DOE's Savannah River Operations Office (DOE-SR) under the Office of Environmental Management the 2019 Annual Safety System Oversight (SSO) Award.

Mr. Satterfield demonstrated outstanding leadership by identifying numerous areas for contractor improvements within the Savannah River Liquid Waste Program. He also volunteered to provide important technical support to the Carlsbad Field Office in overseeing operations at the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant. These and other accomplishments make Mr. Satterfield well deserving of this professional honor.

We join you and your field office managers in acknowledging the importance of the contributions made by DOE's SSO engineers and extend our sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Satterfield. We invite Mr. Satterfield to meet with our executives during his next visit to the DC area.

Yours truly,

Bruce Hamilton Chairman

c: Mr. Michael Budney Mr. William Satterfield Mr. Joe Olencz

AFFIRMATION OF BOARD VOTING RECORD

SUBJECT: 2019 SSO Award Winner Letter

Doc Control#: 2020-100-0045

The Board acted on the above document on 06/26/2020. The document was Approved.

The votes were recorded as:

	APRVD	DISAPRVD	ABSTAIN	NOT PARTICIPATING	COMMENT	DATE
Bruce Hamilton		✓			✓	06/25/2020
Jessie H. Roberson	✓					06/26/2020
Joyce L. Connery	~					06/25/2020

This Record contains a summary of voting on this matter together with the individual vote sheets, views and comments of the Board Members.

Micholas Moore

Executive Secretary to the Board

Attachments:

- 1. Voting Summary
- 2. Board Member Vote Sheets

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Bruce Hamilton

SUBJECT: 2019 SSO Award Winner Letter

Doc Control#: 2020-100-0045

DATE: 06/25/2020

VOTE: Disapproved

COMMENTS:

This is congenial correspondence, and while I have no first-hand knowledge of the award winner or of his contributions, I am confident in the Secretary of Energy's assessment that he is deserving of the honor.

That notwithstanding, it is unfitting for the Board, which is charged with providing independent safety oversight, to endorse or recognize the performance of individuals within the Department of Energy. Doing so would contribute to greater familiarity and informality with Departmental actors, thus eroding, albeit marginally in this case, the Board's independence and objectivity, particularly in the eyes of the public.

I therefore disapprove.

Bruce Hamilton

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Jessie H. Roberson

SUBJECT: 2019 SSO Award Winner Letter

Doc Control#: 2020-100-0045

DATE: 06/26/2020

VOTE: Approved

Member voted by email.

COMMENTS:

None

Tessie H. Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Joyce L. Connery

SUBJECT: 2019 SSO Award Winner Letter

Doc Control#: 2020-100-0045

DATE: 06/25/2020

VOTE: Approved

COMMENTS:

None

Toyce L. Connery