Bruce Hamilton, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson Joyce L. Connery



The Honorable Dan Brouillette Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Brouillette:

We are pleased to recognize that Department of Energy has named Mr. Coleman Abbott of the National Nuclear Security Administration, Livermore Field Office, as 2019 Facility Representative of the Year.

Mr. Abbott's exceptional leadership and technical competence drove significant improvements in the safety of operations at the Lawrence Livermore High Explosives Applications Facility and remote test site. In addition, he served a detail at Los Alamos and supported oversight of the Plutonium Facility. The challenges in overseeing these high-hazard nuclear facilities and operations make him well deserving of this professional honor. In addition, we also recognize your continued support of the Facility Representative Program and its role in assuring safety in defense nuclear facilities.

We join you and your field office managers in acknowledging the important contributions made by all DOE facility representatives, and we extend our sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Abbott. We invite Mr. Abbott to meet with our executives during his next visit to the DC area.

Yours truly,

Bruce Hamilton Chairman

c: Mr. Peter Rodrik Mr. Coleman Abbott Mr. Joe Olencz

AFFIRMATION OF BOARD VOTING RECORD

SUBJECT: 2019 FR of the Year Letter

Doc Control#: 2020-100-0044

The Board acted on the above document on 06/26/2020. The document was Approved.

The votes were recorded as:

	APRVD	DISAPRVD	ABSTAIN	NOT PARTICIPATING	COMMENT	DATE
Bruce Hamilton		v			v	06/25/2020
Jessie H. Roberson	~					06/26/2020
Joyce L. Connery	~					06/25/2020

This Record contains a summary of voting on this matter together with the individual vote sheets, views and comments of the Board Members.

Micholas Moore

Executive Secretary to the Board

Attachments:

- 1. Voting Summary
- 2. Board Member Vote Sheets

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Bruce Hamilton

SUBJECT: 2019 FR of the Year Letter

Doc Control#: 2020-100-0044

DATE: 06/25/2020

VOTE: Disapproved

COMMENTS:

This is congenial correspondence, and while I have no first-hand knowledge of the award winner or of his contributions, I am confident in the Secretary of Energy's assessment that he is deserving of the honor.

That notwithstanding, it is unfitting for the Board, which is charged with providing independent safety oversight, to endorse or recognize the performance of individuals within the Department of Energy. Doing so would contribute to greater familiarity and informality with Departmental actors, thus eroding, albeit marginally in this case, the Board's independence and objectivity, particularly in the eyes of the public.

I therefore disapprove.

Bruce Hamilton

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Jessie H. Roberson

SUBJECT: 2019 FR of the Year Letter

Doc Control#: 2020-100-0044

DATE: 06/26/2020

VOTE: Approved

Member voted by email.

COMMENTS:

None

Jessie H. Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Joyce L. Connery

SUBJECT: 2019 FR of the Year Letter

Doc Control#: 2020-100-0044

DATE: 06/25/2020

VOTE: Approved

COMMENTS:

None

Joyce L. Connery